Order NowPrice Calculator Live Chat Phone Support

Writer Reviews

With plenty of freelance writing options on the web, it's important to choose a trusted writing service that can keep its promises and value your talent. Ultius understands the needs of writers and continuously works on iterating and improving the entire ecosystem. As part of our commitment to gaining feedback through verified reviews, below are highlighted reviews from top employer review sources: Indeed and Glassdoor.

  • Freelance Writer reviewed Ultius on 7/31/2014 via Glassdoor Click to see the original review on an external website. ? Learn more about our commitment to verified reviews.

    Very flexible, I can take orders when its convenient for me, good communication with editors, opportunities for moving into more permanent positions, editors are very understanding when you let them know exactly what's happening with a troublesome order. If you are a serious writer, take the effort to craft your documents with care, and expect respectful treatment, this is a good place to work.

     
  • Freelance Writer reviewed Ultius on 7/31/2014 via Glassdoor Click to see the original review on an external website. ? Learn more about our commitment to verified reviews.

    I work when I want to and take the assignments that interest me. When I have a question or concern, it is answered immediately, politely and with respect by Upper Management. I learn something new every single day, so I'm doing what I love (writing and researching) while obtaining further education. It seems a win/win to me, so far. Work is as an independent contractor, not statutory employee. Being able to establish an anonymous relationship with a client and have the client return as a repeat customer is both lucrative and rewarding.

     
  • Freelance Writer reviewed Ultius on 2/9/2014 via Glassdoor Click to see the original review on an external website. ? Learn more about our commitment to verified reviews.

     

    Flexibility, autonomy, room for advancement and/or bonuses.

    Every negative review out there must be by writers who tried to half-ass their assignments. As long as you make a genuine effort to meet deadlines and don't purposely cut corners on formatting and such, I can't think of why any decent writer who would have a bad experience with Ultius.

     
  • Academic Content Writer reviewed Ultius on 1/5/2014 via Glassdoor Click to see the original review on an external website. ? Learn more about our commitment to verified reviews.

     

    Pros: completely set your own schedule, good way to make extra cash from home without being stuck with shifts, upper management is capable and understanding, being a contract employee.

    Cons: dealing with clients who don't know what their talking about, but have enough money to throw a fit, strict deadlines, picky editors.

    Advice to Management: If you do your job correctly and on time, you'll barely ever deal with an editor. I've only spoken to one maybe twice.

     
  • Academic Content Writer reviewed Ultius on 6/26/2013 via Glassdoor Click to see the original review on an external website. ? Learn more about our commitment to verified reviews.

    Pros: Almost always a lot of orders to choose from on a variety of subjects. The employers are very quick to respond to any concerns, it's not difficult to get a text, email, or phone call response if you need it, and the directors will go out of their way to make sure you are paid on time and the proper amount. Great time working here, you choose your own hours and work and make as much money as time you put in.

    Cons: The work is seasonal, meaning during summer months there is often a lack of work, but that's not really a con to the company, and so far this summer has kept me quite busy with Ultius work as it is.

    Advice to Management: Keep it up.

     
  • Freelance Writer reviewed Ultius on 6/25/2013 via Glassdoor Click to see the original review on an external website. ? Learn more about our commitment to verified reviews.

    Pros: Firstly, it's a writing job. Need I say more? Secondly, it's extremely flexible. Writers can choose (or not) to accept orders at their own discretion. Thirdly, as research is constantly required in order to complete assignments, it is a wonderfully and incessantly educational experience. Fourthly, management seems to be always available, and quite helpful, always willing to answer any questions I may have. And finally, pay is adjusted to account for the time allotted for completion, level of education, and the length of the paper.

    Cons: Often, too little information is revealed about the paper and the only way to gain additional details is by accepting the assignment. However, I was informed that changes to the site will soon be made to remedy this.

    When checking the queue from a mobile (Android at least), even less information is divulged. There is an Ultius app available for the iphone, but I have no idea if it is any better.

    There are no notifications of new additions to the queue, and it is therefore necessary to frequently visit the site.

    Advice to Management: Modifications to the site so that writers have access to all info uploaded by the client is preferred. Notifications for queue additions and a more mobile friendly site would also be great. Thanks!

     
  • Academic Content Writer reviewed Ultius on 6/22/2013 via Glassdoor Click to see the original review on an external website. ? Learn more about our commitment to verified reviews.

    Pros: The biggest pro is most definitely the flexibility. Writers have control to chose when, and if, we accept an order. However, an other pro would be the constant learning. As writers, we have to conduct research in diverse subject areas. It's an ongoing learning experience.

    Cons: While we are able to get small details regarding orders, we only have access to the full instructions once we accept orders. Sometimes, I think clients will have additional information in the order itself only to find that the initial instructions are all I have to go by. I wish there was a way to see the order specifications in their entirety without having to accept the order.

    Advice to Management: Because the writers and clients come from a variety of places, I wonder if administrators are scheduled throughout the day and night. I think it would be helpful for the writers to know their schedules for added security. While we have a support line, it's nice to know an administrator is always available or when he or she is not.

     
  • Academic Content Writer reviewed Ultius on 6/21/2013 via Glassdoor Click to see the original review on an external website. ? Learn more about our commitment to verified reviews.

    Pros: Guidelines and expectations are clear ~ their communications technology is 2nd to none. Leadership is down-to-earth, yet highly professional. You CARE because of a mutual respect ~ A pleasure to deal with! Ethics, manners, & straight-forward ~ Management is responsive and fair. You learn about the little mistakes upon which eliminating, helps boost your skills & value.

    You are "pushed" in a positive way ~ they let you know of your weaknesses, BUT in a way to strengthen and quickly correct them which only serves to make you a better writer :D A true win/win situation ~ My health is such that some days I'm un-well so it would be difficult to leave my home for hours on a daily basis... Ultius is a blessing.

    Cons: Not really a "Con" ~ the expectations for excellence are high.. They believe in you and you prove yourself. It's a mutual respect ~ if you cannot deal with responsibility & respect, this is not the place for you

    Advice to Management: Keep up the good work ~ There's a lot of academic "buzz" about Social Entrepreneurship theory in management today. You guys step up & deliver!!

    Nice good mix of being human, yet unrelenting in quality professionalism and support. KUDOS :D

     

Company Culture

Learn more about our unique company culture and social mission.

Ultius Company Culture

About Ultius

Want to learn more about us? These links may help.

Connect With Ultius

Ultius is the trusted provider of content solutions for consumers around the world. Connect with great American writers and get 24/7 support.

Download Ultius for Android on the Google Play Store

© 2017 Ultius, Inc.